The Awakening

The air,

So it seems,

Fresh and awakening.

 

Pulling me out of my blinded haze,

Pushing me into the cold shock of morning,

Laughing around my face,

Pinched with cold and red,

Hair so abruptly moving.

 

This air,

So it seems,

Sharp and jagged.

 

Like waves crashing into me,

Alive with power,

Confident in their might,

Surf like foam along the sand,

Stood with my life to the shore.

 

This air,

So it seems,

Like water and ice.

 

Try, as I might,

To gasp the air in through full lungs,

With laughter and eyes open,

Arms stretched like wings,

To fly.

 

This air,

So it seems,

So rugged and alive.

 

The spirit of life around me,

Roaring in my ears,

Echoes of happiness and sadness,

A lesson in letting go,

I awaken.

 

Leave a Reply

